Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Process Peek: Accessory Selection

How to choose an umbrella-ella-ella

Most of my doodles are straight up black and white, using Procreate’s Gesinki Ink brush on a white background. This combo seems to give me the easiest path from brain to page, with the least static obscuring a doodle during translation.

If I get in a rut, I give one of the other brushes a whirl. There are a zillion, and like scribbles, they are suggestive.

A scumble is a freshly dug border bed:

A sponge is a gray mizzle:

Even wild grass, though a touch literal for regular doodling, is a nice prompt for fresh ideas:

Doodling on top of these contexts opens new channels to my brain.

So the question becomes: what is my doodle DOING in this context? In the process video above, I considered four answers.

Four “accessories,” but only one tells the right story

I started the doodle with the kid, but became more interested in the broad-beamed lady standing next to her.

Was she gardening? No, it was a gray day for wheeling around weeds; she’d probably be curled up with a book.

Was she holding a balloon above her to brighten things up? To be honest, I’m not really a balloon person, and also that seemed not so interesting.

I did like the bright yellow, though, especially within the bounds of the mizzle. What if she had harnessed a ball of sunshine to oppose the gray? What a spectacular umbrella THAT would make.

I labeled this one “Courage, Mes Amis” and made prints; I was delighted at a request to reimagine it in pride colors. Her defiance of the oppressive gray seems to translate.

0 Comments
Process Peeks
How did this doodle get here, anyway?
Authors
Judith Solberg